Firstcard

Credit Genie

Small advances up to $150, plus a promise not to send you to collectionsFacts verified September 11, 2026

Credit Genie's Cash Boost app lends $10 to $150. There is no interest and no credit check. Standard delivery is free and takes up to 3 business days, with no membership needed. You do pay an ongoing fee to keep your bank connected, and Credit Genie will not say how much. Faster delivery needs a $9.99 monthly membership plus a delivery fee it also will not publish.

$150

Max advance

Undisclosed ongoing fee to keep your bank connected. Applies to every user.

Subscription

None

Credit check

Requires $9.99/mo membership plus a delivery fee (amount not stated on these pages)

Instant fee

The details

Max advance
Up to $150
Limit resets
Per pay period
Mandatory fees
Undisclosed ongoing fee to keep your bank connected. Applies to every user.
Premium plan (optional)
$9.99/month
Interest
None
Late fee
None
Credit check
None
Direct deposit required?
Yes
Bank-link required
Yes
Instant transfer
Within 30 minutes to a linked debit card. Express ACH arrives same day by 9pm ET, or the next business day if you ask after 3pm ET.
Instant transfer fee
Requires $9.99/mo membership plus a delivery fee (amount not stated on these pages)
Free transfer
Up to 3 business days (Standard ACH)
Tips
None
Eligibility
You must be 18 or older, with a personal checking account open at least 90 days and regular direct deposits in the last 90 days. Only one Cash Boost outstanding at a time. Not available in Connecticut, Maryland, Nevada, Hawaii, Wisconsin or Washington DC. Note that Credit Genie's own Apple App Store listing states 'No direct deposit required', which contradicts the website and the Terms.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Credit Genie's terms make a written promise you rarely see in this category. It will not report a missed Cash Boost to credit bureaus, send it to collections, or sell your debt.
  • There is no interest and no late fee on a Cash Boost, according to Credit Genie's own site.
  • No credit check to apply. Applying will not affect your credit score.
  • Credit Genie does not ask for a tip. It says right on its site that other cash advance apps do.
  • You keep the bank account you already have. There is no new account to open.
  • Standard delivery is free and takes up to 3 business days. You do not need the $9.99 monthly membership to get a Cash Boost, only to speed it up.

Cons

  • Credit Genie charges an ongoing fee just to keep your bank account connected. Every user pays it, and Credit Genie does not say how much anywhere we could find.
  • Advances top out at $150, and most people get far less. The average is $93 for repeat customers and $64 for new ones. First-timers are capped at $100, per Credit Genie's own App Store listing.
  • Faster delivery costs extra. You need the $9.99 membership. There is also a delivery fee. Credit Genie does not say how much it is.
  • Credit Genie's website says you need regular direct deposits into a bank account that is at least 90 days old. Its own App Store listing says no direct deposit is required, so double check in the app.
  • Credit Genie is not available in Connecticut, Maryland, Nevada, Hawaii, Wisconsin, or Washington DC.
  • You can only have one Cash Boost out at a time. You must repay it before you can request another.